Tarupallab :: তরুপল্লব

About us

Dwijen Sharma

Dwijen Sharma: Founder President

Dwijen Sharma (29 May 1929 – 15 September 2017) was a Bangladeshi naturalist and science writer. He was awarded Bangla Academy Literary Award in 1987 and Ekushey Padak in 2015 by the Government of Bangladesh for his contribution in language and literature. At 2008 He Founded a Botany, Environment & Nature Study Organization TARUPALLAB.

Sharma was born in Shimulia village of Barlekha Upazila of Moulvibazar District in Sylhet Division. His father Chandrakand Sharma was a "Kobiraj" or rural doctor and his mother Mognomoyi Debi was a social worker. During his childhood, he was fond of visiting the forest of Patharia hill which is situated in Barlekha Upazila.

Sharma received his bachelor's degree from City College, Kolkata. He earned his master's degree in Botany in 1958 from the University of Dhaka. He then joined Brojomohun College, Barisal. In 1962 he left Barisal to join the faculty of Notre Dame College, Dhaka and worked until 1974. Then, he moved to Moscow to work for Progress Publishers as a translator.

He moved back to Bangladesh in 2000 and joined Banglapedia (National Encyclopedia Of Bangladesh) Project, Asiatic Society of Bangladesh as an editor and translator of biology. He served as vice president of Asiatic Society for 3 years. An encyclopedia of the flora and fauna of Bangladesh in 56 volumes was published by the Asiatic Society of Bangladesh while he was the president of the publishing committee.

Selina Hossain

Selina Hossain: President

Selina Hossain is a Bangladeshi novelist. Her major works include Hangor Nodi Grenade (1976) and Poka Makorer Ghor Boshoti (1996). She earned all major national awards - Bangla Academy Literary Award in 1980, Ekushey Padak in 2009 and Independence Day Award in 2018. Her novels and short stories have been translated into English, Russian, French, Japanese, Korean, Finnish and Malay. She was a chairperson of Bangladesh Shishu Academy.

In 1994-95, Hossain won a scholarship from the Ford Foundation for her novel, Sandhya Gayatri.

Hossain retired as the director of the Bangla Academy. She served as a member of the National Human Rights Commission of Bangladesh and the representative of her government to the Executive Board of UNESCO. In 2014, she was appointed as the Chairman of the Bangladesh Shishu Academy.

Hossain's novel Bhumi O Kusum was the first work in Bangla literature to address the enclave issue. She born on 14 June 1947, Rajshahi, Bengal Presidency, British India.

Mokaram Hossain

Mokaram Hossain:Secretary

Mokaram Hossain was born on 30th October, 1972 in Chhayani union of Begumganj upazilla in Noakhali district. His father’s name is AKM Fazlul Karim and Mother’s name is Monwara Begum. Mokaram Hossain did his post graduation from Jagannath University in 1996. Mokaram Hossain is a dedicated activist in the conservation of nature. He is writing extensively in the national dailies and magazines on nature and vegetation. He is also arranging programs on the above issues. To sensitize the mass people. He has launched an organization named “Tarupallab” through which he is organizing programs the “Tree Identification”. He is also editing a magazine on nature and environment named “Prokritipotro”.

Mokaram Hossain has so far published 50 books. Mentionable among them are:Poribesher Joto Kotha (All about nature), Bangladesh in Alphabet, Rivers of Bangladesh, Fairs of Bangladesh, Trees for Life, The Hundred Flowers of Bangladesh, Our Parks and Gardens, You Tree the Pristine Life, Interesting Flowers and Trees, The Adversaries of the Environment. For his contribution in environmental literature Mokaram Hossain are awarded Kazi Kader Newaj Gold Medal in 2003. He was awarded agrani Bank Children’s literature award in 2001 & 2003. In 2011 he was awarded Nurul Kader children’s literary Honor, in 2015 he was awarded poet Habibar Rahman Literary award. In 2017 Mokaram Hossain was awarded the 5th HSBC The Daily Star Climate Award. He received City Bank Anondo Alo Literary award in 2019. He received the national environmental award in 2017. He was honored with the Halima-Shorfuddin Science Award ran by Bangla Academy for his book Nisorgo Akkhyan (The stories on Nature).

Committee of Advisory

Name of Board Member Designation of Committee
Biprodash Barua Member, Advisory Committee
Sadat Selim Member, Advisory Committee
Enam Ul Haque Member, Advisory Committee
Dr. Ishtiaq Uddin Ahmad Member, Advisory Committee
Istiak Sobhan Member, Advisory Committee
Rajia Sultana Member, Advisory Committee
Prof. Anwarul Islam Member, Advisory Committee

Executive Committeey

Name of Board Member Designation
Selina Hossain President
Shahjahan Mridha Benu Vice president
Mokaram Hossain General Secretary
Aftabur Rahman Accountants
Shahana Chowdhury Executive Member
Edmund Guda Executive Member
Imam Hossain Gazi Executive Member
Hena Sultana Executive Member
Urmi Lohani Executive Member